Light

There’s always a light at the end of the tunnel. For me, tonight, that light was the one that illuminates the halls of Rush Rhees (the library here on campus). It’s beautiful. And as I look at it tonight all the memories of the past four years flood my head. The people I’ve met and the ones I’ve grown to love. All the stress and the hard times that felt like they would break me apart. But that light is always there, bringing me back.

Recently there have been a lot of days and moments that have wittled me down and made me feel like there was no way that I could bounce back again. But if I’ve learned anything it’s that I am resilient. There’s a light that illuminates my path and it’s carrying me through right now. And the people that remind me that I am strong, and beautiful and smart. That I will not break. I am incredibly thankful for them and the way they have propped me up over and over again.

As this year comes to a close, I’m reveling in the hope and strength my friends and family have given me. They are overwhelmingly the light that keeps me going. I hope that I make them proud everyday. Graduation is nearing, but life is just beginning and I am looking forward to the summer and the years to come. Rush Rhees, tonight, you are beautiful and strong. You are me.

Leave a comment